line spacing keystrokes

Have a problem? A question? This is the place for answers from other Express users.
Post Reply
robertb
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006-04-02 15:48:28
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

line spacing keystrokes

Post by robertb »

I've just bought NWE 2.6.1 and I'm thrilled with it.

But I have a question:

Is there a way to assign a keyboard command to line spacing and bypass the format pallette?

For instance, I want to set a paragraph in my document to double space by selecting the paragraph and pressing cmd+2.

Similary, I want to press cmd+1 for single spacing a selection.

I've checked the help files and browsed the support forum, but no luck.

Robert B.

cchapin
Posts: 419
Joined: 2004-02-25 18:28:40
Location: Maryland, USA

Post by cchapin »

You can set this up in Nisus Writer Express 2.7, currently available as a beta version.

If you want it in an earlier version, you can implement it through styles. Create a paragraph style for each type of line-spacing you anticipate using and assign it a keyboard shortcut. If you like that approach, save the styles in your Nisus New File template. I use this for paragraph spacing (as opposed to line spacing) and it works nicely for me.

--Craig

robertb
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006-04-02 15:48:28
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Post by robertb »

Craig:

Thanks very much. Yours is just the solution I was looking for.

Cordially,

Robert

midwinter
Posts: 333
Joined: 2004-09-09 18:07:11
Location: Utah
Contact:

Re: line spacing keystrokes

Post by midwinter »

In the 2.7 betas, CMD 1, 2 and 3 change spacing from single, 1.5 and double-spacing.

gemboy27
Posts: 353
Joined: 2003-09-30 21:33:58
Contact:

still

Post by gemboy27 »

not sure if I would use tha tmuch, but that is cool...
I have never let my schooling interfere with my education/Mark Twain (1835-1910)

robertb
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006-04-02 15:48:28
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Post by robertb »

In my writing, I change the spacing all the time.

Typically, I'll write rough drafts in double space because that's easier to read and edit. Double spaced Courier is my NWE default.

For final versions, depending on the formatting requirements, I'll switch everything to single spacing, change the typeface, and whatever else the publisher requires.

dshan
Posts: 334
Joined: 2003-11-21 19:25:28
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: line spacing keystrokes

Post by dshan »

midwinter wrote:In the 2.7 betas, CMD 1, 2 and 3 change spacing from single, 1.5 and double-spacing.
Seriously? In that case I think they need to change it - cmd-2 for 1.5 line spacing is NOT user-friendly and is highly non-intuitive! cmd-1 = single-space, cmd-2 = double-space, etc. KISS.

midwinter
Posts: 333
Joined: 2004-09-09 18:07:11
Location: Utah
Contact:

Re: line spacing keystrokes

Post by midwinter »

dshan wrote:
midwinter wrote:In the 2.7 betas, CMD 1, 2 and 3 change spacing from single, 1.5 and double-spacing.
Seriously? In that case I think they need to change it - cmd-2 for 1.5 line spacing is NOT user-friendly and is highly non-intuitive! cmd-1 = single-space, cmd-2 = double-space, etc. KISS.
That was my recommendation, as well. But I fear that if we complain too much they will take it away! ;)

gemboy27
Posts: 353
Joined: 2003-09-30 21:33:58
Contact:

made your way

Post by gemboy27 »

you can always change the quick keys to ones that work for you

which I just realized that for me cmd-1 = character; cmd-2 = dialogue and cmd-3 = direction

though I don't do cmd-3 much, because I don't take directions well
I have never let my schooling interfere with my education/Mark Twain (1835-1910)

gemboy27
Posts: 353
Joined: 2003-09-30 21:33:58
Contact:

cmd-22

Post by gemboy27 »

I just realized something that is either new to 2.7b3 or never stumbled upon before

you can use double stroke

if cmd-4 makes header one
cmd-44 can make header two

now if anyone knows how I can turn things off in the service menu... I have iClock running and it has a calculator, which I don't want, if I hit cnd-1 it turns it on from service...

thanks
I have never let my schooling interfere with my education/Mark Twain (1835-1910)

User avatar
mrennie
Posts: 173
Joined: 2004-11-10 07:31:31

Service Scrubber

Post by mrennie »

You could for instance use Service Scrubber, a rather nifty free utility that allows you to organise your Services and disable those that you don't need.

gemboy27
Posts: 353
Joined: 2003-09-30 21:33:58
Contact:

very much

Post by gemboy27 »

thank you..
I have never let my schooling interfere with my education/Mark Twain (1835-1910)

Post Reply