Nisus Writer Pro Redesign

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
Will N too

Nisus Writer Pro Redesign

Post by Will N too »

As someone who spends a lot of time using Nisus Writer Pro, there are a lot of things I would love to see changed.
Minor things like the Font Size button up and down. I've been using NisusWP for 20 years, I still miss the tiny tiny arrow, or I hit the wrong direction. The slider? I never use, it's too jumpy. My writing world with NWP is 8 points to 14 points. (On Illustrator...it can go 4 point to 300 point)
Fonts are a bit of a mess. Because I use Courier the default list is 'Fixed Width' I didn't select that. There doesn't seem to be a good way to either show more of the list, or show fewer of the Zapf Dingbats, and oddities.
And how about do something with that silly new video-strip in the new MacBook Pro. Put the m-dash there. Maybe some punctuation.
Typing--or Keyboarding.
After 48 years of typing. Occasionally you have to learn some new moves. Start off very slow, very slow, practice, practice, then speed up. Mistakes? I don't know how I ever used a typewriter before white out. I've learned that Dvorak is not pronounced like the composer and that it really isn't any faster than QWERTY for most of us.

There are a lot of quirky moves, multiple key-combinations that just never get any better for me.
Long m dashes, a complete pain. Yes I know the keystrokes, but the keys under my little left finger are often hit or miss (ever try to use the control-option-command key for something and find out....an hour or two...or a few days that the 12 point font you started with is now 9 point? A size ever hour or so...you don't even notice. )