Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
Post Reply
NisusUser
Posts: 279
Joined: 2011-01-12 05:32:38

Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by NisusUser »

Is there a way to make it so a file cannot be reverted to previous data? I.e., can the versions one could revert to be deleted?

User avatar
Hamid
Posts: 749
Joined: 2007-01-17 03:25:42

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by Hamid »

While you are in Browse All Versions..., go to File menu, press Option and go to Revert to... and apply the submenu Delete Old Versions...

NisusUser
Posts: 279
Joined: 2011-01-12 05:32:38

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by NisusUser »

Hamid wrote:
2020-01-18 12:36:25
While you are in Browse All Versions..., go to File menu, press Option and go to Revert to... and apply the submenu Delete Old Versions...
I don't see any File menu or any other menus at all when I am in "Browse All Versions." Rather, there is a stack of versions on the right and the current saved file on the left. The only two action options available are "Done" under the image of the current file and "Restore" under the top-most previous version.
Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 07.43.14_1000.jpg
Screen Shot 2020-01-20 at 07.43.14_1000.jpg (14.56 KiB) Viewed 1089 times

User avatar
Hamid
Posts: 749
Joined: 2007-01-17 03:25:42

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by Hamid »

The menubar is hidden; it appears when you move the mouse pointer to the top of the screen.
Delete Old Versions.jpg
Delete Old Versions.jpg (68.69 KiB) Viewed 1085 times

NisusUser
Posts: 279
Joined: 2011-01-12 05:32:38

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by NisusUser »

Hamid wrote:
2020-01-20 00:57:27
The menubar is hidden; it appears when you move the mouse pointer to the top of the screen.
You're absolutely correct, Hamid! Sorry I didn't realize that. Seems like it's really hidden, since I just tried it once, and couldn't get it, but on my second try, it appeared. (Just operator error on my part.)

I really appreciate your help!

User avatar
Hamid
Posts: 749
Joined: 2007-01-17 03:25:42

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by Hamid »

Apparently, how to delete old versions is not mentioned in the User's Guide.

NisusUser
Posts: 279
Joined: 2011-01-12 05:32:38

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by NisusUser »

Hamid wrote:
2020-01-20 03:05:48
Apparently, how to delete old versions is not mentioned in the User's Guide.
Martin, Maybe that's something that could be added to the User's Guide? It's not exactly self-explanatory (to me, anyway :) )

martin
Official Nisus Person
Posts: 4668
Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by martin »

You're right that this command isn't very discoverable. In fact, I had no idea this menu existed either! It's supplied by Apple as part of the standard document version browser. Thanks to Hamid for pointing it out.

We could point this command out in the user guide. I wonder in what situations it's desirable to delete all old versions? The system (macOS) automatically culls old file versions on demand, eg: when disk space is needed. I think the only reason a person would ever need to delete old versions manually is when sensitive materials were accidentally saved in a prior version, and access should be restricted to that information, but not to information in the current version of the file.

NisusUser
Posts: 279
Joined: 2011-01-12 05:32:38

Re: Remove all previous versions, so a file cannot be reverted?

Post by NisusUser »

I've found that the revert function does some weird things, probably because I do so and don't really understand how the old versions are kept or I just don't pay attention. I haven't really tried to nail it down precisely, but I often start with an old file with old, but similar text to what I want in the new one (or laid out the same way, e.g., with a letterhead). Then I save it with a new name. Or sometimes I copy out the current text of a file and make a new file (with no revisions), then save new text in that old file. Now that old (original) file has revisions that aren't really "related" to it. In some cases I've had weird stuff back in those revisions. This question came up because of that – I just wanted a file with only what I could see in it, not old stuff back in the crevices… :)

Post Reply