New User Needing More Speed

Have a problem? A question? This is the place for answers from other Express users.
David Chunn

New User Needing More Speed

Post by David Chunn »

I'm a new Mac-user, and I'm a writer. So I've got Appleworks and the Word demo as well as demos of NWE2, Mellel, and something else (can't remember at the moment). NWE2 is by far my favorite of the lot. I've used Word and WP on Windows in the past. Better than both. I love the feel and the setup, the thesaurus that I can keep visible at all times, and the simplicity (it's not heavy with things I don't need). This is the program I want to use, except for two problems which are interrelated.

First, the program is too slow when loading and making sweeping changes. I've got a brand new iMac G5 with 512mb Ram, so it's got to be the program. Second, it doesn't handle large documents well at all. I loaded up my first two novels (220,000 words and 80,000 words) as well as the current which is at 70,000 right now. Very slow, but it's just text no fancy formatting, so I think it should certainly be faster. Oddly, the current novel is the slowest and the program has quit unexpectedly several times. I think the latter might have been due to some unicode characters transferred from Word. I'm testing it to see. I know Word can carry a lot of baggage sometimes, too, some I'm going to filter it through a plain text program first.

(I wouldn't have this problem, obviously, if I divided my work into chapters, but I just can't work that way.)

Anyway, I understand you guys are working on the speed issues. And I wish you well. When this program can handle the documents lengths I work with and quickly, I will purchase it. But I can't justify the expense until then.
WattsM

Post by WattsM »

From the Nisus Blogs, it sounds like NWX 2.1 is going to be released real soon, and performance is going to be one of the main issues addressed. So keep checking back. :)
joao

Post by joao »