Equations in Express

Have a problem? A question? This is the place for answers from other Express users.
bpourciau

Equations in Express

Post by bpourciau »

One of the features of Nisus classic that made my life easier was the seamless way it worked the equation editor MathType. Does any one know how soon Express might have the same functionality, perhaps with MathMagic? For example, I talking about the ability to double-click an equation and have MathMagic open up with the equation ready for editing. Although I have been a Nisus classic user since Nisus first appeared, this is my first time posting a topic, so forgive me if the topic of equations has been discussed before. --Bruce P
rmark
Official Nisus Person

Equations in Express

Post by rmark »

Bruce,

Welcome to the Forum!

We are negotiating with a couple of developers for a new equation editor at this time. In the meantime you can use MathMagic to create a PICT that contains an image of the equation. In our next release of Nisus Writer Express we expect that you will also be able to double click on the equation PICT in Nisus Writer Express and then edit it in MathMagic. The same should be true of MathType equations. Currently, Nisus Writer Express turns every graphic it gets into a bitmap, which yields poor quality images in some cases. We know that we need to add vector graphic support. We hope to include that as well in the next version, if possible.
Write On!
Mark Hurvitz
Nisus Software Inc.
rmark
Official Nisus Person

Equations in Express (more)

Post by rmark »

Bruce,

An addendum:

In MathMagic, when you press copy or you drag an equation out of MathMagic and into Nisus Writer Express, MathMagic provides a very nice high resolution TIFF. We preserve this TIFF because it looks good and it contains the necessary info to allow you to drag it back into MathMagic and re-edit the equation.

We still hope to do more in the future.
Write On!
Mark Hurvitz
Nisus Software Inc.
MacSailor